Daily sitting 2

Wednesday, November 20, 2024 10 o'clock a.m.

Prayers.

Madam Speaker, at the request of Mr. M. LeBlanc, reverted to Government Motions for the Ordering of the Business of the House.

Mr. M. LeBlanc requested leave of the House to move the following resolution, seconded by Hon. Mr. K. Chiasson: (Motion 1)

WHEREAS the Government of New Brunswick is focused on strengthening relationships with First Nations communities that are built on trust and collaboration;

WHEREAS recognizing and paying respect to the First Nations on whose territories we live and work is an important part of the ongoing commitment to truth and reconciliation;

WHEREAS on November 18, 2024, the Government of New Brunswick invited government employees to use a land acknowledgement at formal meetings, at events, in publications and in other government venues and settings;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick acknowledge that the Province of New Brunswick is situated on the unceded and unsurrendered territories of the Wolastoqey, Mi'gmaw and Peskotomuhkati peoples, and that the Members of the Legislative Assembly seek to repair and rebuild meaningful relationships with Indigenous peoples and honour these lands which hold the hopes of future generations.

Leave to dispense with Notice of Motion 1 was denied. Accordingly, notice was given for Tuesday, November 26, 2024.

With leave of the House, Mr. M. LeBlanc moved, seconded by Ms. Wilcott: (Motion 2)

THAT, nothwithstanding the definition of "recognized party" in the Standing Rules, for the duration of the First Session of the 61st Legislative Assembly, the members of the Third Party caucus be afforded the same rights and privileges as members of recognized parties in the House pursuant to subsection 28(11) of the *Legislative Assembly Act* and Standing Rule 5, with respect to appointing a House Leader, and pursuant to Standing Rules 40 and 40.1, with respect to replies to Statements by Ministers and Statements by Members;

THAT the definition of "recognized party" in the Standing Rules be referred to the Standing Committee on Procedure, Privileges and Legislative Officers for its consideration;

THAT the committee report back to the House no later than April 1, 2025.

And the question being put, it was resolved in the affirmative.

Madam Speaker introduced the new pages for the session: Julianna Piques, Halton Hills, Ontario; Morgan Finley, Upper Gagetown; Sana Hashmat, Fredericton; Orland Clark, Saint John; Alex Lutes, Salisbury; Jayden Byrne, St. John's, Newfoundland; Gabriel Kahan, Brooklyn, New York, United States of America.

The returning pages were: Tyler Dupuis, Shediac; Dhruv Manish, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India; Head Page Lily Collier, Portage la Prairie, Manitoba.

It was agreed by unanimous consent to extend the time allotted for Oral Questions by fifteen minutes.

Madam Speaker laid upon the table of the House the *Independent Auditor's Report on the financial statements of the Office of the Auditor General for the fiscal year ending March 31*, 2024.

It was agreed by unanimous consent to continue sitting through the noon recess.

The following Bills were introduced and read a first time:

By Hon. Ms. Holt,

Bill 2, An Act to Amend the Executive Council Act.

By Hon. Mr. Hickey,

Bill 3, An Act to Amend The Residential Tenancies Act.

By Hon. Mr. Legacy,

Bill 4, An Act Respecting Petroleum Pricing.

Hon. Mr. Legacy gave Notice of Motion 3 that on Tuesday, December 10, 2024, he would move the following resolution, seconded by the Honourable the Premier:

THAT this House approves in general the capital budgetary policy of the government.

With leave of the House, Mr. M. LeBlanc moved, seconded by Hon. Mr. McKee: (Motion 4)

THAT, pursuant to Standing Rule 89, the following Standing Committees be appointed for the 61st Legislative Assembly and that the membership of the said Committees be as follows:

The Standing Committee on Climate Change and Environmental Stewardship be composed of Mr. M. LeBlanc, Ms. Vautour, Ms. Wilcott, Hon. Mr. Herron, Hon. Mr. LePage, Mr. J. LeBlanc, Ms. Sodhi, Mr. Cullins, Ms. Conroy, Mr. Weir and Ms. Mitton.

The Standing Committee on Economic Policy be composed of Ms. Vautour, Ms. Wilcott, Ms. Sodhi, Mr. Johnston, Mr. Robichaud, Mr. Bourque, Mr. J. LeBlanc, Ms. Scott-Wallace, Mr. Ames, Mr. Austin and Ms. Mitton.

The Standing Committee on Estimates and Fiscal Policy be composed of Ms. Vautour, Mr. Bourque, Mr. Mallet, Mr. Johnston, Ms. Sodhi, Mr. Robichaud, Mr. Doucet, Ms. Bockus, Mr. Monahan, Ms. S. Wilson and Ms. Mitton.

The Standing Committee on Law Amendments be composed of Mr. Arseneault, Mr. M. LeBlanc, Mr. Doucet, Mr. Mallet, Mr. Robichaud, Hon. Mr. McKee, Ms. Sodhi, Ms. M. Wilson, Mr. Hogan, Ms. Conroy and Mr. Coon.

The Legislative Administration Committee be composed of Hon. Ms. Landry, Mr. Bourque, Mr. Arseneault, Hon. Mr. Hickey, Hon. Mr. C. Chiasson, Ms. Wilcott, Mr. M. LeBlanc, Mr. Oliver, Mr. Hogan and Mr. Coon.

The Standing Committee on Private Bills be composed of Mr. Arseneault, Ms. Sodhi, Mr. Johnston, Ms. Vautour, Ms. Wilcott, Mr. Doucet, Mr. Mallet, Ms. M. Wilson, Ms. Bockus, Mr. Lee and Mr. Coon.

The Standing Committee on Procedure, Privileges and Legislative Officers be composed of Mr. M. LeBlanc, Mr. Bourque, Mr. J. LeBlanc, Mr. Robichaud, Mr. Doucet, Ms. Wilcott, Mr. Arseneault, Mr. Austin, Ms. S. Wilson, Ms. M. Johnson and Mr. Coon.

The Standing Committee on Public Accounts be composed of Mr. Robichaud, Mr. J. LeBlanc, Mr. Johnston, Mr. M. LeBlanc, Ms. Vautour, Mr. Mallet, Mr. Doucet, Ms. Scott-Wallace, Mr. Lee, Mr. Weir and Ms. Mitton.

The Standing Committee on Social Policy be composed of Mr. Arseneault, Mr. Bourque, Mr. J. LeBlanc, Mr. M. LeBlanc, Ms. Sodhi, Mr. Johnston, Mr. Mallet, Mr. Dawson, Mr. Monahan, Ms. S. Wilson and Ms. Mitton.

And the question being put, it was resolved in the affirmative.

Mr. M. LeBlanc gave notice that on Friday, November 22, 2024, Bills 2, 3 and 4 would be called for second reading.

And then, 12.19 p.m., the House adjourned.